Unfortunately for New Patriotic Party( NPP) and fortunately for the National Democratic Congress(NDC) some notable and prominent incumbent NPP Members of Parliament(MP) have lost their seats to the NDC. However, the figures of the other Member of parliament are still unfolding.

About 28 incumbent NPP MPs lost their seats and one may wonder why?.

Join Our Facebook Group Here

Upon my deliberations with electorates, the following were their concerns;

The overwhelming majority alluded to the fact that when a member of parliament does not keep to his promise the constituents will vote against you whether they support your party’s president or not. Once as an MP you don’t keep to delivering the social contract you reached with your constituents they vote against you.

When a presidential candidate is marketed at the expense of an MP, constituents tend to vote ‘skirt and blouse’. It is extremely important that you market your presidential candidate because without a party’s president the party cannot rule with their good policies, however the importance of a legislator in Parliament is crucial.

As an MP when you don’t visit and engage with your constituents to know their problems and to rank with them, it sends you out to represent them in parliament. Once you are able to rank their needs and you deliver them sequentially based on the funds allocated to the constituency, they will continue to retain you.

As an MP especially the youth you must be seen trying to help them your influence to get them jobs. Any MP who don’t that to the youth, the youth grumble and sometimes vote against him/her. They expect a given MP, not a selfish one.

Unrecognizable infrastructure development in the constituency in question could send any incumbent MP out of parliament. Once the constituents see you have not done any tangible infrastructural development for them they decide to kick you out of office.

Lastly, with respect to the NPP primaries system, the NPP delegates may not like it because the last primaries some NPP MPs the party did make them contest. This did not go down well with some of the members as they were not given a chance to elect a representative for the next member of parliament. This may have angered the party fateful to have voted ‘skirt and blouse’.

. in the general elections against the MPs the party chose.

The following are some NPP MPs who lost their seats;

1) George Oduro – New Edubiase – Deputy Agric Minister

2) George Andah – Awutu Senya – Deputy Communications Minister

3) Yaw Buabeng Asamoah – Adenta

4) Boniface Abubakar Saddique – Minister of State

5) Siaka Stephens – Jaman North – Deputy Bono Regional Minister

6) Yaw Afful – Jaman South – Deputy Aviation Minister

7) Ali Maiga Hamidu – Dormaa West

8) George Gyan Baffuor – Wenchi – Minister for Planning

9) Derrick Oduro – Nkoranza North – Deputy Defence Minister

10) Charles Konadu Yiadom – Nkoranza South

11) Abena Durowaa Mensah – Assin North

12) Barbara Asher Ayisi – Cape Coast North – Deputy Minister for Works and Housing

13) Francis Kingsley Cudjoe – Ekumfi – Deputy Fisheries Minister

14) Alexander Abban – Gomoah West – Deputy Minister for Communications

15) Joseph Tetteh – Upper Manya Krobo – Deputy Eastern Regional Minister

16) Ebenezer Nartey – Ablekuma Central

17) Titus Glover – Tema East – Deputy Minister for Transport

18) Joseph Dindiok Kpemka – Tempane – Deputy Attorney General

19) Adongo Frank Fuseini – Zebilla – Deputy Upper East Regional ministers

20) Anthony Karbo – Lawra – Deputy Roads Minister

21) Michael Gyato – Krachi East – Deputy Minister for Water Resources and Sanitation

22) Paul Essien – Jomoro – Deputy Minister for Chieftaincy

23) Barbara Oteng Gyasi – Prestea Huni Valley – Minister for Tourism

24) Kofi Amoakohene – Atebubu Amanten – Bono East Regional Minister

25) Gabriel Osei – Tain

26) Oko Boye – Ledzokuku – Deputy Minister for Health

27) Elizabeth Afoley Quaye – Krowor – Minister for Fisheries and Aquaculture

28) Hajia Alima Mahama – Nalerigu /Gambaga – Minister for Local Government and Rural Development

A time unfolds we shall update you on NDC MPS who lost their seats to NPP too.


Please follow and like us:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here