Ghanaians will not be permitted to enter any European Union country when the bloc opens its borders to 15 selected countries on July 1.

In a meeting in Brussels, officials discussed citizens of countries to be allowed to enter an EU country on July 1 if the bloc’s international borders are open and those who will be banned.

Join Our Facebook Group Here

This list has sparked controversy after sources revealed that the United States, the country most affected by COVID-19 with more than 2.4 million cases, was on the latest list according to Euronews.

The final draft list was approved by EU countries on Friday and contained 15 countries.

Only 15 countries will be permitted to enter EU countries when the border reopens on July 1

The source also questioned the date for the reopening date of the border on July 1 as it claims the decision is too early considering the recent rise in cases around the world.

The complete list of countries whose citizenship is allowed into Europe under the draft list is as follows: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and China subject to reciprocal

Diplomatic sources told Euronews last week that there was disagreement between countries regarding the decision criteria, with some arguing that the COVID percentage was not reliable.

They called on the ECDC, the EU body for disease prevention, to provide further details. Resources will be checked every two weeks.

The criteria are based on epidemiological data, and on Thursday the draft list had contained 54 countries to be allowed. 15 countries are already on the draft list to reopen borders.

Also, the European Commission wants British citizens to continue to be treated as EU citizens until the end of the Brexit transition period (31 December 2020).

Please follow and like us:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here