President Donald Trump has signed a bill in response to China’s invasive Hong Kong security law. The bill, the president announced on Tuesday sanctions some Chinese officials in retaliation for the new law that is curtailing Hong Kong’s political freedom.

The President also signed an executive order that stops the preferential treatment of Hong Kong as an autonomous and free market state.

The Hong Kong Autonomy act has received bipartisan support in Congress and was passed by the senate earlier this month. It will sanction Chinese individuals interfering in Hong Kong and the banks that support them.

“This law gives my administration powerful new tools to hold responsible the individuals and the entities involved in extinguishing Hong Kong’s freedom. … Their freedom’s been taken away, their rights have been taken away, and with it goes Hong Kong, in my opinion, because it will no longer be able to compete with free markets. A lot of people will be leaving Hong Kong, I suspect, and we’re going to be doing a lot more business because of it because we just lost one competitor,” the President said.

READ ALSO  UK's Huawei 5G Network Ban 'Disappointing and Wrong'
Zhao Lijian

Meanwhile, China’s Foreign Ministry spokesman Zhao Lijian said that its Communist regime will retaliate strongly and the United States will bear the full “consequences”.

The Chinese government on Monday, banned Sens. Marco Rubio (R-Fla.) and Ted Cruz (R-Texas) from entering the Asian country following sanctions from the US government in connection to the human right abuse being meted out to the Uighur muslims.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here